You are here: Home / Self Help/FAQs / Zoom Settings / Using Global Settings

Using Global Settings

Learn about what global setting features and behavioral options are available in your Zoom accounts In Meeting settings.

 

Global SettingsEach Zoom In Meeting setting has slightly different behavior. Most of the In Meeting settings turn features on or off for meetings in your account. When one of these global settings is turned off the option is not available in the meeting client of hosts, panelists, and attendees who attend your meetings.

A good example of a common global setting is the Chat feature. Chat has its own unique set of features but how it behaves as a global setting is common in that even if you have Chat turned on in your meeting settings if Chat is turned off in your In Meeting (Basic) settings it will not be available in any of your meetings until you turn it back on. If Chat is turned on in your In Meeting settings it will be available as an option when setting up a new meeting, edit an existing meeting and it can be turned on and off and its behavior can be modified live in a meeting.

Other examples of this global setting behavior are found features like Polling, Screen Sharing, Annotation, Whiteboard, Breakout Rooms, Closed Captioning, and Live Streaming to name a few. In most of these examples changing the setting doesn't take effect until everyone leaves the active meeting. They will be available if everyone leaves and come back or for the next meeting started from your account.

Turning on Waiting Room in your In Meeting Advanced settings is an example of a global setting with different behavior than most. When the setting is off you can still turn on Waiting Room in your meeting settings and you can turn Waiting Room on and off live in any meeting from the Security button on the Zoom toolbar.

Optional Global Feature Settings

You may need to turn on the following features in Global Settings to get additional functionality from your webinar overtop of this baseline for internal-facing meetings. These features have their own inherent functionalist as well as specific behaviors in your Zoom meetings and webinars.

Additional information for each setting below and how it works can be found on Zoom's Settings & Controls Support Page.

In Meeting (Basic)

  • Chat Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On for the functionality of having a chat window available to attendees of your webinar. Turning Private Chat off in your In Meeting settings does NOT affect a webinar, by default.

  • File transfer Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Co-Host On by default

This setting should be left On unless you want to block the use of Co-Hosts

  • Polling Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Screen Sharing for Participants Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Annotation Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Whiteboard Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Remote control Off by default

If off, you may consider turning this feature On if needed, it can be useful if showing someone how to use an application, learn a process, or for troubleshooting.

  • Nonverbal Feedback Off by default

If off, you may consider turning this feature On  if needed


In Meeting (Advanced)

  • Breakout room Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Remote support Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Closed captioning Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Virtual background Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

  • Waiting room Off by default

This setting should be left On if possible. Leaving Waiting room turned on gives you access to settings that allow you to customize the Waiting room Splash Screen that participants see when they join your meeting. The Waiting room global In Meeting setting can be left on without negatively affecting your meetings because waiting rooms can be turned on and off in the individual meeting setting when creating a new meeting or editing an existing meeting. Waiting room can also be turned on and off live in a meeting.

Waiting room is also a better alternative to locking a meeting once everyone has joined. You can't see who is blocked by a locked meeting, including someone who drops off and rejoins due to a bad internet connection. Even if you don't initially use a waiting room, once all your participants are connected you can turn it on from the Security button. You can then see who tries to enter the meeting and chat with them and let them into the meeting or eject them from the waiting room. 

  • Allow live streaming meetings Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed

Optional Global Behavior Settings

You may need to turn on the following behaviors in Global Settings to get additional functionality from your webinar overtop of this baseline for internal-facing meetings.  These behaviors do not add additional features to Zoom but they specific behaviors in your Zoom meetings and webinars that can be useful in specific event scenarios.

In Meeting (Basic)

  • Auto saving chats Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Play sound when participants join or leave Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Always show meeting control toolbar Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Show Zoom windows during screen share Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Join different meetings simultaneously on desktop Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Allow removed participants to rejoin Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Allow participants to rename themselves Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Hide participant profile pictures in a meeting Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

In Meeting (Advanced)

  • Report participants to Zoom Off by default

This behavior should be left on for security reasons

  • Save Captions Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Far end camera control Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Identify guest participants in the meeting/webinar On by Default

This behavior should be left on for security reasons

  • Auto-answer group in chat Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Allow users to select stereo audio in their client settings Off by default

You may consider turning this behavior On if needed

  • Allow users to select original sound in their client settings On by Default

This behavior should be left on for usability reasons

  • Show a "Join from your browser" link Off by default

This behavior should be left on for security reasons

Other

  • Blur snapshot on iOS switcher Off by default

You may consider turning this feature On if needed